My dog wants to lick my face mask…

Standard

Because it’s EGG!

(For me) part of self-care includes face masks. I started using them after my sisters in Korea gifted me some. Since the ones they gave me are kind of expensive, I only like to do them when I am with someone else. I think of using them as a special treat, and treats are much better when shared I find. Maybe that’s just me…

Overall, I don’t do face masks often enough, but when I do them on my own I like to put funky stuff on my skin. I like to experiment outside of the package and create my own concoctions or try out homemade remedies… or maybe something that’s been sitting in the fridge for awhile.

One of my favorite and easy “recipes” is just an egg white – yep that’s it.

photo (33)

 
Wash your face with lukewarm water, pat dry, and apply the egg white to your face with a brush or your fingers. Avoid the eyes of course, and let it sit for 15 minutes. Wash it off and you will notice your skin feels fresher and softer!

Unless you rubbed it all over your body, you probably will have leftover egg. You can keep it in a mason jar and store it in the fridge for later use. I won’t tell you how long I will let it sit in there…you see for yourself what is good for you 🙂

I like to follow it with a little bit of jojoba oil to moisturize and I’m good to go. I find moisturizing afterwards is essential to locking in the nutrients and keeping my skin feeling good all night. My favorite kind of jojoba oil is Aura Cacia’s brand.

Jojoba oil

Even though my face feels amazing every time, I don’t do it often enough…so I’m hoping as part of my new self-care routine I can incorporate a face mask at least every other week!

Up next will be the honey-based face mask. Stay tuned…you may just see a picture or two, depending on how generous I am feeling 🙂

Leave a Reply

